38 West Main Street | Forsyth, Georgia | ( 478) 994-7000

The Board of Commissioners serves as the governing body of Monroe County Government. The Commission is elected to establish policy through the adoption of ordinances and resolutions, and is responsible for placing in effect the powers conferred by the Charter that created the Government of Monroe County; and for the promotion and protection of the safety, health, peace, security, and general welfare through ordinances, resolutions, rules, and regulations.

The Commission has the power to levy taxes and adopt budgets. It is the responsibility of the Commission to give thoughtful consideration to proposals and opportunities for the community, create and support programs and initiatives that will benefit Monroe County in the future, oversee the appropriation and use of public funds, and ensure the cost efficient and effective delivery of quality services to every citizen and entity in a fair and equitable manner.

 The Monroe County Commissioners meet the First and Third Tuesday of each month.If you would like to be added to the meeting agenda, contact the County Clerk, Anita Cauthen at 478-994-7000. Please be prepared to provide any documentation or information you would like for the Commissioners to review by Friday morning prior to Tuesday’s meeting. The Commissioners allow time for the public to be heard.

Click on the map to identify the district and representative.  You can also click the search button to locate an address.